future students
ursuline college
Ursuline College @Ursulinecampus   Check out Ursuline's new admission microsite at ursuline.edu/admission/! #ursulinecollege
Ursuline faculty, alumnae and current students recognized for outstanding work.

May 08, 2015

Ursuline College is happy to announce that several members of the College community have earned awards pertaining to their work both at Ursuline and in the greater community.

At the Northeast Ohio Nursing Initiative (NEONI) Awards Ceremony on April 30, 2015, two of our faculty were recognized. Dr. Patricia Sharpnack, dean of The Breen School of Nursing, received the 2015 Legacy in Education Award and Kimberly Dillon-Bleich received the 2015 Rising Star Award.

Our current students have also earned prestigious awards and recognition. Graduating senior Monique Primm was named the 2015 Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) Student of the Year Award by the Ohio Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers, Cleveland - Region 3. Also, recent graduate Marissa Dean and current senior Julie Shuman both scored in the 99th percentile on the Major Field Test in Psychology, a national outcomes measure administered by The Educational Testing Service. Additionally, Marissa Dean got accepted to four doctoral programs in clinical psychology. In addition, one of Ursuline College's current graduate students, Melissa Griffith, was named the Nurse of the Year in ICU of the Cleveland Clinic.

Award Winners at the Student Leadership Awards

In addition, the 2015 Wall of Fame class has been named, and it includes the following students: Barbara Welch, Cleo Bowers, Courtney Jackson, Glorianne Unrein, Nina Jacobs, Rhianna McChesney and Shy Anne Atkins.

Finally, Ursuline College recognizes two students each year, one junior and one senior, with the St. Catherine Medal and the Gonzaga Medal respectively. These awards are given to students who embody the spirit of St. Angela Merici by giving back to their community and excelling in their chosen field. This year, the St. Catherine Medal was awarded to junior Giuliana Pugliese and the Gonzaga Medal was awarded to senior Olivia Koch.

News Home    News Archive