future students
ursuline college
Ursuline College @Ursulinecampus   Look who's on Snapchat! Add us at UrsulineCampus! #ursulinecollege #snapchat
Eastern Edge: A Juried Art Exhibition opens Aug. 18

August 04, 2017

Eastern Edge, A Juried Art Exhibition of work by residents of Pepper Pike and adjacent communities, opens with a free, public reception and awards ceremony on Friday, August 18, from 5-8 p.m. in Ursuline College's Florence O’Donnell Wasmer Gallery. Cash prizes totaling $2,800 will be announced at the opening.
Eastern Edge is another in the year-long series of public cultural offerings celebrating the 50th anniversary of the college's move to Pepper Pike in the 1966-1967 academic year. This series was made possible in part by the residents of Cuyahoga County through a public grant from Cuyahoga Arts & Culture. Other supporters include the Sisters of Charity Foundation, The Riverbend Fund, Albert and Audrey Ratner, and Third Federal Foundation.

“We’re intentionally showcasing the creativity of our talented neighbors here on the eastern edge of Cuyahoga County," said Wasmer Gallery Director Anna Arnold. The show was open only to artists from Beachwood, Bentleyville, Chagrin Falls, Chagrin Falls Township, Gates Mills, Glenwillow, Highland Heights, Hunting Valley, Lyndhurst, Mayfield, Mayfield Heights, Moreland Hills, Orange, Pepper Pike, Solon and Woodmere. Eastern Edge will be on view through Oct. 6.

Forty-four artists from these communities submitted 101 entries and the jurors accepted 38 works from 26 artists for the show. 

The exhibiting artists are: Sawsan Alhaddad, Pepper Pike; Mary Ann Breisch, Chagrin Falls; Ryn Clarke, Chagrin Falls; Suzette Cohen, Mayfield Heights; Martin Eisert, Chagrin Falls; Allen Friedman, Beachwood; Leslie Greenberg, Beachwood; Marti Higgins, Chagrin Falls; Tricia Kaman, Chagrin Falls; Juila Karlovec, Chagrin Falls; Leslie Leventhal, Pepper Pike; Jamie Morse, Gates Mills; Sr. Rosaria Perna, OSU, Pepper Pike; Thomas Richner, Chagrin Falls; Betty Scufka, Lyndhurst; Lisa Scufka, Pepper Pike; Barbara Smoloff, Solon; Catherine Spencer, Chagrin Falls; Doris Sugerman, Pepper Pike; Judy Takacs, Solon; Lynn Underwood, Chagrin Falls; Marlene Weinstein, Beachwood; Kenneth Weiss, Beachwood; Abe Wolf, Beachwood; Shari Wolf, Beachwood; and Dana Wrubleski, Woodmere.

The Best in Show Purchase Award is $1,000; first prize Award of Excellence is $750; second prize Award of Distinction is $500; third prize Award of Merit is $250; and three honorable mentions will each receive $100. Works in the following media were invited: painting, works on paper, photography, mixed media, digital media, sculpture, jewelry, glass and fiber.
The three jurors for Eastern Edge -- Lane Cooper, Ron Rumford and Jerome T. White -- are all accomplished, professional artists whose biographies appear on the artcall webpage established for submission of works. 

News Home    News Archive