future students
current students
ursuline college
Ursuline College @Ursulinecampus   Schedule your visit today at http://ursuline.edu/visit

Alumnae Blog - End of 2012!
back to Alumnae Blog homepage
May 01, 2012

It is hard to believe but the school year is coming to a close. We had a very eventful year with new events happening. Check-back in June to see some of the 2011-2012 highlights. We also have Reunion coming up on June 23, 2012! All alumnae of Ursuline & St. John College are invited with a special “Happy Anniversary” greeting to those classes ending in a 2 and 7.

This past month we showcased many of the student accomplishments at the Student Leadership Ceremony. One of the highest honors for a graduating senior is being nominated for the Gonzaga Medal.

Here is a little background on the award:
The Gonzaga Medal is awarded to a graduating senior considered to best exemplify the personal qualities of refinement, dignity, integrity and sincere concern for others. The award is named in honor of Sister M. Gonzaga Haessly, OSU. Sister Gonzaga, an Ursuline nun for 70 years, had been with the College since 1922. She is remembered by alumnae as one who exemplified the true spirit of Ursuline College. She was a religious woman who was a scholar, teacher, administrator and above all, a friend. Graduating students are nominated by their classmates, faculty, administration and staff of Ursuline College.

This year, the Ursuline~St. John College Alumnae Board choose two graduating seniors to accept the honor. Connie Herchek (right) and Natalie Koch (left) were the 2012 recipients.

We also celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Gonzaga Medal. Before the Student Leadership Ceremony we invited back former Gonzaga Medal recipients to reconnect and get updated on the College happenings. We were lucky enough to celebrate with five previous recipients and the two 2012 recipients.

(back row, l-r) Romie Daher Christensen ’99, Justine Rastatter ’10, Anne McCauley Storey ’72, Sr. Jane Morgan, OSU ’74 & Virginia Bossu ’73
(front row, l-r) Natalie Koch & Connie Herchek, 2012 Recipients