future students
ursuline college
Ursuline College @Ursulinecampus   100% of May 2017 grads from our second-degree nursing program passed the state licensing exam to practice nursing! bit.ly/2umaamN
School of Arts and Sciences | Mathematics Faculty

Muserref (Michelle) Wiggins, Ph.D.

Professor, Mathematics, Chair
440 646 8395
Office: Dauby 305D

Muserref (Michelle) Wiggins came to Ursuline College in 2002 after teaching more than ten years in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Akron. Before joining the University of Akron she worked as an advanced research engineer at BFGoodrich. She also served as a faculty member of the Chemical Engineering Department at Florida Institute of Technology (now Florida Tech) in Melbourne. Her PhD is in Chemical Engineering from the University of Akron. She also holds B.S. and M.S. degrees in Chemical Engineering from the Middle East Technical University (METU) in Ankara, Turkey. She currently served as Chair of the Mathematics Department as well as Chair of the Curriculum Committee of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA), the Ohio chapter.

Rosemarie Emanuele, Ph.D.

Professor, Mathematics
440 646 8154
Office: Dauby 305

Dr. Emanuele earned  her Ph.D. in Economics (with fields in Labor and Public Sector Economics) from Boston College and completed her undergraduate work in Economics (with a Minor in Physics) at Georgetown University. Her research focuses on the Economics of Nonprofit Organizations and has especially explored the economics of giving and volunteering. Her dissertation on the demand for volunteer labor was funded by the Indiana University Center on Philanthropy in 1990. She is a frequent co-author on academic papers with Dr. Walter Simmons, Associate Dean of the Boler School of Business at John Carroll University outside of Cleveland, Ohio.

Dr. Emanuele draws on much of her training as an Economist to teach Math and Economics. She was a contributor to the book Mama, Ph.D. a collection of first-person accounts by academic mothers, published in 2008.